Tel:+44(0)121 748 4600 Fax:+44(0)121 730 2745 Email: Search
The Independent Automotive Aftermarket Federation

Nominations open for Automechanika Birmingham Garage Awards 2024

Date: Wednesday 05 June 2024

Nominations are now open for Automechanika Birmingham Garage Awards 2024, hosted by IAAF, which will take place on Wednesday 5 June at the UK Garage & Bodyshop Event at NEC Birmingham. Please note that the full Automechanika Birmingham event will return in 2025.

The awards will celebrate the very best of the garage industry and acknowledge the commitment and dedication independent garages and technicians have made to ensuring affordable mobility in the UK over the past few years.

Nominations for each award can be made here:

There are 10 award categories and criteria are listed below:

  1. Garage of the Year
    The Garage of the Year award category recognises garages and aftermarket service outlets that have delivered exceptional service over the past twelve months and demonstrate high calibre business acumen to navigate the challenges of operating a thriving business in 2023 and beyond.

This includes proof of awareness and understanding of profit and loss, the difference between gross, operating, and net profit, and why the difference between mark up and margin is important for a business but ultimately delivers value for customers. The recipient of the Garage of the Year award will have demonstrated proficiency and a proactive approach in marketing, social media use and local community outreach.

  1. Best Single-Site Garage
    The Best Single-Site Garage Award recognises outstanding levels of customer service, business operations and proactive marketing within the automotive aftermarket by businesses and technicians that operate from a single site.
  1. Best Multi-Site Garage
    The Best Multi-Site Garage of the Year award recognises outstanding levels of customer service, business operations and proactive marketing within the automotive aftermarket by businesses and technicians that operate from more than one site. With more than one garage facility within the business, this is a complex operation to run, requiring increased system resilience. The award recipient will have demonstrated strong management skills and responsibility for employees across multiple sites.
  1. Best Community Initiative
    The Best Community Initiative Award recognises a garage that has implemented and delivered an initiative benefitting its local community, whether a charitable donation, promotion or local campaign.
  1. ‘Auto-Mechanik’ of the Year
    Individual contributions to the success of any highly performing garage will be recognised in the Auto-Mechanik of the Year Award. This award recognises technicians who have focused on their own professional development and staying ahead of the curve as new innovations arrive in the aftermarket are also encouraged to apply.
  1. Best Marketing Award
    The Best Marketing Award recognises innovation, creativity and proactivity with local customers and the aftermarket industry. Nominees will have demonstrated creative flair with a local marketing campaign, or they will have offered a certain promotion that benefits consumers on value, but also delivers return on investment.
  1. Best Customer Service Award
    Customer service is key to any successfully running garage. The Best Customer Service Award will be awarded to an individual or garage that has demonstrated excellence in serving customers to ensure repeat business, deliver a positive service experience and demonstrate good core business values.
  1. Lifetime Achievement Award
    Recognising long-term excellence in any role within the garage or aftermarket industry, the Lifetime Achievement Award is the ceremony’s flagship award, for individuals whose careers have spanned at least 20 years with documented accomplishments and accolades. Celebrating longevity and achievements during distinguished careers, the award acknowledges the recipient’s sustained achievements within the garage industry.

The winner will have demonstrated outstanding excellence in skills or within a leadership role, inspired others in the industry, and forged enduring relationships across multiple areas of the automotive aftermarket.

  1. Content Creator Award
    As the automotive world becomes more digital and technology continues to advance at pace, this category recognises talented automotive content creators making a mark in our sector. We’re looking for creators who execute smart and original content that elevates brands and the wider automotive aftermarket. 
  1. ‘Young-Mechanik’ of the year

Open to any technician in the automotive industry under the age of 30. ‘Young-Mechanik’ of the Year is awarded to any individual technician demonstrating exceptional performance in their role, going above and beyond as they develop their career in the automotive industry.

Nominations for each award can be made

The closing date for nominations is 29 March.